Academic Employees

Chancellor's Academic Professional Excellence
(CAPE) Award Winners

2022 Winners

Jessica Hartke, Nutritional Sciences
Florencia Henshaw, Spanish & Portuguese
Ken Vickery, Graduate College
Kraig Wagenecht, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation
Nancy Walsh, Office of Undergraduate Admissions
Steven Wilson, Illinois State Water Survey

Previous Winners


Brian Brauer, Illinois Fire Service Institute
Sarah Christensen, University Library
Jean Drasgow, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
Kristi McDuffie, Department of English
Jason Mock, Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning
Deidre A. Weathersby, Counseling Center


Derek Attig, Graduate College
Jeannette Elliott, Disability Resources and Educational Services
Josh Keen, Office of Student Financial Aid
Brenda Davis Koester, Department of Human Development and Family Studies
Stuart Levy, National Center for Supercomputing Applications
Normand Paquin, Coordinated Science Laboratory


Adam W. Bleakney, Division of Disability Resources and Educational Services
Melissa M. Edwards, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
Maria T. Gillombardo, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
Rhonda M. Kirts, Office of the Dean of Students
George S. Roadcap, Illinois State Water Survey
Sarah M. Zehr, Office of the Executive Vice President and Vice President for Academic Affairs


Irfan S. Ahmad, Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology
Bryan C. Dunne, Astronomy
Lowell Gentry, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences
Gioconda Guerra Pérez, La Casa Cultural Latina
Allyson Purpura, Krannert Art Museum
Jonathan Thomas-Stagg, Disability Resources and Educational Services


Lisa Burgoon, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
Gavin Horn, Illinois Fire Service Institute
Charles Murphy, Undergraduate Admissions
Samuel V. Panno, Illinois State Geological Survey
Norma I. Scagnoli, College of Business
Angela S. Wolters, Engineering Administration
Tim Yardley, Information Trust Institute


Dawn Aubrey, University Housing
Ave Alvarado
, Graduate College
Thomas E. Betz, Student Legal Services
Alexis Thompson, Graduate College
Charles Wallbaum
, School of Chemical Sciences
Stephanie Wheeler, Disability Resources & Educational Services


Kimberly Alexander-Brown, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Kimberly Armstrong, Committee on Institutional Cooperation
Rhiannon Clifton, Charles H. Sandage Department of Advertising
Laura Frerichs, Research Park & Office of Public Engagement
Tonja M. Henze, Division of Animal Resources
Rebecca McBride, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts


Christa Deacy-Quinn, Spurlock Museum
Frank Ireland, Department of Animal Sciences
Hannes Leetaru
, Division of Illinois State Geological Survey
Carla McCowan-Alston
, Counseling Center
Scott Morris, School of Earth, Society and Environment
Matthew Rosenstein, European Union Center


Annie Abbott, Department of Spanish, Italian & Portuguese
Cheelan Bo-Linn, Center for Teaching Excellence
William Kruidenier
, Dept of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
Patricia Barrett Malik
, Disability Resources & Educational Services
Jane A. Scherer
, University of Illinois Extension
Linda L. Tortorelli
, Department of Human & Community Development


James Baltz, Department of Animal Sciences
Jennifer Eardley, Division of Biomedical Sciences
Robert Finley, Division of Illinois State Geological Survey
Tamara Fuller, School of Social Work
Wendy Harris
, Department of Mathematics
Susann Sears
, Disability Resources & Educational Services


Jack Brighton, Illinois Public Media
Angelina Cotler
, Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Bill Goodman
, College of Applied Health Sciences
Hadi Rangin, Disability Resources & Educational Services
Curtis Sinclair, University of Illinois Extension
Pam Utterback, Department of Animal Sciences


Angella L. Anderson, Disability Resources & Educational Services
Maimouna Abdoulaye Barro
, Center for African Studies
Kimberly Collins, Disability Resources & Educational Services
Danny R. Erickson
, National Soybean Research Laboratory
Mary Ellen O'Shaughnessey, Fine and Applied Arts
Robert D. Palinkas, McKinley Health Center


Eric Adee, Crop Sciences
Alison Ahlgren, Mathematics
Rick Atterberry
Karen Chan, University of Illinois Extension
Hank Kaczmarski
, Beckman Institute for Advanced Science & Technology
Ruth McCauley
, Dean of Students


Carol Buss, International Student & Scholar Services
Keith Erickson
, Facility Planning & Programs
Brian Jewett
, Atmospheric Sciences
Robin Kaler
, Public Affairs
Karen Pruiett
, Entomology
Tracey Wszalek
, Beckman Institute


Jon Gunderson, Disability Resources & Educational Services
Jennifer Bloom, College of Medicine
Jesse C. Thompson, ACES
Alvin Zwilling
, University of Illinois Extension
Van Anderson, Beckman Institute
Umesh Thakkar


James Basney, NCSA
William Chapman
, Atmospheric Sciences
Debra Hagstrom
, Animal Sciences
Bradley Hedrick
, Disability Resources & Educational Services
Robin Orr
, Food Science & Human Nutrition
David Robson
, University of Illinois Extension


Sharon Bryan, Engineering
Richard Knipe
, Extension
A. Asghar Mirarefi, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Charles Olson
, Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental
Kent Reifsteck, Facilities and Services
John Rossi
, Law


Laura Bauer, Animal Sciences
Robert Dunker
, Crop Sciences
Robert Frazee
, Extension
Gladys Hunt, Psychology
Dennis Kane
, Physics
Ray Twesten, Frederick Seitz Materials Research Laboratory


Paul Adams, Graduate School of Library & Information Science
Edward Ballard, Extension
Mark Band
, Biotechnology Center
Carol Livingstone
, Division of Management Information
Lian Ruan, Illinois Fire Service Institute
Catherine Thurston
, Education


Sonia R. Carringer, Campus Honors Program
Jesse Clements
, Campus Recreation
Celia Elliott
, Physics
Edward Kieser, Broadcasting WILL-AM/FM
David Seibert
, Animal Sciences
Deborah Trouth
, Child Development Laboratory


Paul Bermingham, Operations and Maintenance Division
Ellen Burton, Extension
Vera V. Mainz
, Chemical Sciences


Charles Kline, Computing and Communications Services Office
Susan Maul
, Illini Union
Lisa Micele
, University Laboratory High School


David Fischer, Extension
Michael Folk
Paul Magelli, Business Administration


Patrica J. Buchanan, Extension Services
Linda Krute
, Engineering Administration
Howard Schein
, Art and Design


Robert E. Coverdill, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
William A. Dick, Engineering Administration
Lois Jacobson Meerdink, Commerce Placement


Jerry D. Burnam, Applied Life Studies
Thomas McCowen
, International Agriculture
Martha H. Moore
, Admissions and Records


Judith Eakin Baker, Materials Research Laboratory
Barbara E. Bohen, World Heritage Museum
Paul E. Parker
, Engineering Administration


Gene Oldham, Agronomy
Monica M. Shoemaker
, Sociology
Phyllis Vanlandingham
, Women's Studies Program


Brenda K. Eheart, International Programs and Studies
Anthony F. Graziano, Engineering
Michael Toney
, Admissions and Records


Caroll C. Doll, Cooperative Extension Services
Janice I. Lines
, Krannert Center
Nadja B. Shoemaker
, Microbiology


Lester V. Boone, Agronomy
Rebecca J. Simon
, Chemical Sciences
Barbara Stewart
, Residential Life (Housing)


Carole S. Appel, Press
Jean H. Osborn
, Study of Reading
Daniel Simeone
, Broadcasting


Julian M. Frankenberg, Health Professions Information Office
Judith McCulloh, Press
Maria H. Ramos, Housing